WeGo Transit mobile link
Site Map

MTA-Transit-Login   Not a member? Sign up.

Board Members

Gail Carr Williams — Chair

Gail Carr Williams has been a member of the MTA board since 2002 and is Associate Director of Community, Government and Neighborhood Relations in the Division of Public Affairs at Vanderbilt University. She is responsible for building community relationships on behalf of the university. Prior to her work with Vanderbilt, Williams had similar responsibilities at Ohio State University. She also has been a Human Resources Employee Relations Specialist with an emphasis on conflict resolution and mediation, and she practiced law in Oakland County, Michigan for 10 years.

Williams also is a member of the following public service and community boards: University School of Nashville, The YWCA of Nashville and Middle Tennessee, Transit Alliance of Middle Tennessee, Tennessee Performing Arts Center, and Frist Center for the Visual Arts.

She received her undergraduate degree from the University of Michigan in 1979 and her Juris Doctor from the University of Detroit School of Law in 1982.

Janet Miller — Vice Chair

Janet Miller, who was named to the MTA board in December 2014, is CEO and Market Leader of Colliers International. She previously spent 20 years with the Nashville Area Chamber of Commerce in various roles with her most recent position as Chief Economic Development Officer.

Miller also is an active member of the Nashville community and is a supporter of the YWCA, Friends of Radnor Lake and the Tennessee Women's Forum. She is an a highly sought-after lecturer and has spoken on economic development around the country, including Georgia Tech, University of Oklahoma, University of Kentucky, and University of Tennessee.

She received her undergraduate degree from the University of Tennessee with a Bachelor of Science in Economics. She also attended the Economic Development Institute at the University of Oklahoma and received her Certified Economic Developer accreditation in 1999

Glenn Farner — Member

Glenn Farner, who was named to the MTA board in August 2017, is Business Manager and Secretary-Treasurer of the Southeast Laborers' District Council, representing thousands of workers of the Laborers' International Union of North America (LiUNA). He has served in this elected position since 2004. Throughout his career with LiUNA, Farner has held several positions in workplace health and safety, labor-management relations, marketing and business development, and contract negotiations. He has been most dedicated to recruiting and training workers for the construction industry.

Farner also serves as trustee for various construction industry related training and apprenticeship programs, health, and retirement plans. He was appointed by former Nashville Mayor Karl Dean to serve on the Employee Benefits Study & Formulating Committee.

He received a Bachelor of Science degree in Environmental Health from East Tennessee State University.

Hannah Paramore Breen — Member

Hannah Paramore Breen, who was named to the MTA board in March 2017, is an entrepreneur, international speaker, digital marketing expert, and the Founder of Paramore | the digital agency in Nashville, Tennessee, a $5 million, 15-year-old company of about 25 people.

Paramore Breen works with a variety of organizations throughout the country including tourism in Tennessee, Florida, Georgia, New Jersey, Washington, Virginia and West Virginia. She is active in the community, serving on the advisory board for Synovus, The Bank of Nashville, The YWCA of Nashville and Middle Tennessee, Fisk University School of Business, Downtown Partnership and was the first chair of Moving Forward's Public Engagement Task Force. Her passions include golf, travel, the YWCA, The Frist Center for the Visual Arts, and more golf.

She studied classical piano at Belmont University.

Walter Searcy — Member

Walter Searcy, who was named to the MTA board in November 2015, is president and chief executive officer of the WALAR Group. He has spent the past 23 years with the consultant firm, where he remains today as a Principle member.

Searcy has served on the National Advisory Council of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and National Institute of Allergic and Infectious Diseases (NIAID). He also has served as a board member of the Nashville Chapter of the Red Cross, treasurer of Senior Citizens, Inc. and president of Second Harvest Food Bank. Searcy has been a Boy Scout master, served on the board of the Cumberland Valley Boy Scouts and is the recipient of the Whitney M. Young Award for the promotion of scouting in the inner city. He is a former director of the Nashville Bar Association, is a member of the State Legal Redress Committee of the Tennessee NAACP, and chairs the Criminal Justice Task Force of Nashville Organized for Action and Hope (NOAH).

He received his undergraduate degree from Fisk University with a Bachelor of Science in Political Science and received a Doctor of Jurisprudence from Vanderbilt University Law School. He also attended the University of Illinois, Chicago and the University of Ghana, West Africa.

Contact Information
WeGo Public Transit
430 Myatt Drive
Nashville, TN 37115
ph: 615-862-5950
email us
Stay Connected

Subscribe to WeGo Transit Service Alerts